U19/20 Girls State Cup Champions

Over the past few weeks, former FC United players and current collegiate players, Devin Burns (University of Iowa), Bina Saipi (DePaul University), Sheridan Bufe (University of Toledo), Celia Frei, Adrian Walker (DePaul University) and Olivia Peters (Walsh College) returned home to combine forces with current 1998 Select 1 players and future college players; Maia Cella (University of Wisconsin), Sam Urban (University of Wisconsin), Bella Broccolo, Hope Baisley (Fordham University), Megan Murdoch, Maile Lunardi (University of Texas Rio Grande), Vanessa Eljaik, Avery Schuldt (Dartmouth College) and Hannah Arment (St. Lawrence University) to form the FC United U19/U20 team. New to FC United was Ohio University's, Courtney Daugerdas. On Sunday, June 11th, the team defeated Team Chicago 2-1 to win the U19/U20 IYSA State Cup. Bina Saipi scored the game winning goal in the 84th minute after Team Chicago's goalkeeper saved back to back close range attempts by Devin Burns and Vanessa Eljaik. Olivia Peters scored the other goal for FC United in the 17th minute.

With this win, the team qualifies for the US Youth Soccer Midwest Regional Championships which will be played in South Dakota later this month. Excellent job, girls! Good luck!

Page Last Updated 6/13/2017